podcast #17: global swearology, Georgian polyphony and a nonsense song

For blogger Stephen Dodson, swearing is liberation. And the more languages you can swear in, the more liberated you’ll feel. Dodson is the co-author of a new book on global cursing, and we feature an interview with him. Also this week, the story of YouTube sensation (now that’s a 2008 cliche) Peter Nalitch, a Russian who sings nonsense English. And we’ll hear from a group of Georgian choral singers. They’re part of a revival of Georgian-language hymns and folk songs following decades of Soviet repression. It’s some of the most hauntingly beautiful music I’ve ever heard. Listen here.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “podcast #17: global swearology, Georgian polyphony and a nonsense song

  1. Erin

    This show just keeps getting better every week.

  2. Kathy Sammartano

    Your podcast is quickly becoming one of my favorites, and #17 was wonderful. I agree that the music you played was fabulous, but would appreciate a link or other information that would allow me to hear more. (It was hard to tell how the group’s name was spelled) Thank you.

  3. I’ve been trying to find a source for the CDs of the Georgian choral group. I am somewhat hampered by the fact that I don’t know the transliterated spelling of their name. (I presume they spell their name in Cyrillic.)

    Any help on source or spelling available? (Google has been uncharacteristically unhelpful on this so far.)

  4. patricox

    The name of the group is Zedashe. As far as I know, they have cut two CDs. This is the first one, which I have not heard:
    http://cdbaby.com/cd/zedashe

    And here is the second one, a copy of which I bought in Georgia:
    http://www.villageharmony.org/store/details/GErasising_of_lazare.html

    There are probably better sites for info. I came across these ones in a quick search.

Leave a Reply

